The Art of Procrastination

“Procrastination is the practice of carrying out less urgent tasks in preference to more urgent ones, or doing more pleasurable things in place of less pleasurable ones, and thus putting off impending tasks to a later time, sometimes to the “last minute” before a deadline. – Wikipedia.

I am a procrastinator. It can take me all day to write a paragraph, and a whole week to do an essay. For example, the other day, I sat down to do some Citizenship homework (don’t even get me started on Citizenship) and ended up playing baseball with a hairbrush and an empty tic-tac box.

As another example, I am supposed to be doing Citizenship right now, but instead I am writing a blog post. You see the problem?

This of course means that it is almost impossible for me to get anything done, especially if I need to do it. Like I will colour code my t shirt drawer and walk the dog and write a novel, but I won get my homework done.

I’m sure that this is true for lots of people, but I felt like ranting about my first world problems and I really don’t want to do Citizenship.

Something else Wally (la sœur) pointed out to me which I realised I do when I’m bored and typing is type-talk to myself. So I’ll be like,

So the cause of the tsunami is actually linked to hi Rosie how are you are you bored because I’m bored and his is boring I mean how on earth is this going to help me in later life? Why can’t someone teach me how to pay taxes? Anyway I’m really bored and really tired and I’m also hungry but we probably don’t have any food in the house and I should really do some work now but never mind who cares about grades anyway?

It’s a serious problem. Please can someone, as in Lizzie, tell me I’m not alone? Please say other people do this too?

I should probably go do some work now. Or lie on the floor and ponder the meaning of human existence. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

